Here is a small picture gallery. More to come...


Current group members
Name Position Office Phone email
Dr. Genzer, Jan (CV) Professor EB1, Rm. 2088H 919-515-2069 Jan_Genzer@ncsu.edu
Dr. Efimenko, Kirill Research Professor P1, Ste. 3500 919-513-0548 efimenko@ncsu.edu
Dr. Albert, Julie Post-doc P1, Ste. 3500 919-513-0162 jnlawson@ncsu.edu
Cai, Xiaojing Ph.D. candidate P1, Ste. 3500 919-513-0162 xcai4@ncsu.edu
Castillo, Gilbert‡,$,# Ph.D. candidate P1, Ste. 3500 919-513-0162 gilbert_castillo@ncsu.edu
Datta, Preeta Ph.D. candidate P1, Ste. 3500 919-513-0162 pdatta@ncsu.edu
Davis, Duncan Ph.D. candidate P1, Ste. 3500 919-513-0162 dsdavis2@ncsu.edu
Galvin, Casey Ph.D. candidate P1, Ste. 3500 919-513-0162 casey.j.galvin@gmail.com
Gawalt, Eric Ph.D. candidate P1, Ste. 3500 919-513-0162 emgawalt@ncsu.edu
Liu, Ying Ph.D. candidate EB1, Rm. 2082 919-515-1975 yliu29@ncsu.edu
Lu, Xiaomin* Ph.D. candidate Biltmore Hall 919-513-7494 xlu13@ncsu.edu
Mays, Robin Ph.D. candidate EB1, Rm. 2082 919-515-1975 rlmays@ncsu.edu
Melillo, Matthew Ph.D. candidate P1, Ste. 3500 919-513-0162 mjmelill@ncsu.edu
Patil, Rohan Ph.D. candidate P1, Ste. 3500 919-513-0162 rrpatil2@ncsu.edu
Schoch, Phil Ph.D. candidate P1, Ste. 3500 919-513-0162 pkschoch@ncsu.edu
Steadley, Sean$,* Ph.D. candidate P1, Ste. 3500 919-513-0162 emgawalt@ncsu.edu
Walker, Edwin Ph.D. candidate P1, Ste. 3500 919-513-0162 ejwalker@ncsu.edu
Sintavanon, Kate CBE UG student P1 ksintav@ncsu.edu
Shaw, Brandi CBE UG student EB1 blshaw@ncsu.edu
Dolejsi, Moshe$ CBE UG student P1 mdolejs@ncsu.edu
White, Steven CBE UG student P1 skwhite3@ncsu.edu
coadvisor: Dr. Rich Spontak Dr. Michael Dickey $ Dr. Kirill Efimenko # Dr. Chris Gorman * Dr. Orlando Rojas


Group PhD alumni
Name Time period Current position email
Dr. Arifuzzaman, Shafi 9/04 - 3/10 Intel arif580@gmail.com
Dr. Bailey Lash, Tiffani# 9/01 - 6/07 NIH baileyti@nigms.nih.gov
Dr. Bain, Erich 1/06 - 7/12 Army Research Office erich.bain@gmail.com
Dr. Bhat, Rajendra 9/99 - 8/05 BD Technologies Raj_Bhat@bd.com
Dr. Goli, Kiran* 5/06 - 7/12 Intel golikirankumar@gmail.com
Dr. Gozen, Arif Omer 9/04 - 12/09 Bridgestone aogozen@gmail.com
Prof. Jayaraman, Arthi** 9/00 - 12/05 University of Colorado arthi.jayaraman@colorado.edu
Dr. Jhon, Young Kuk 11/03 - 12/08 ykjhon@gmail.com
Dr. Liu, Xiaomeng* 1/08 - 6/11 xliu3@ncsu.edu
Dr. Malik, Ravish** 1/07 - 7/11 Global IT Decision Sciences ravishm.ncsu@gmail.com
Dr. Ozcam, Ali Evren 9/05 - 12/10 3M aeozcam@gmail.com
Dr. Petrie, Randy# 9/00 - 11/05 BASF rjpetrie@ncsu.edu
Dr. Semler, Jim 9/98 - 12/03 Lexmark International jsemler@lexmark.com
Dr. Schultz, Andrew** 9/98 - 12/03 SUNY Buffalo ajs42@buffalo.edu
Dr. Smith, Matthew% 9/01 - 03/07 Novartis matthew_b.smith@novartis.com
Dr. Strickland, Andy** 9/03 - 8/09 Celgard andy.strickland@celgard.com
Dr. Tomlinson, Michael 9/00 - 5/05 m.tomlinson@alumni.ncsu.edu
Prof. Turgman-Cohen, Salomon% 9/05 - 12/09 Kettering University sturgman@gmail.com
Dr. Wei, Bin 9/00 - 12/05 National Starch bin.wei@nstarch.com
Prof. Willoughby, Julie 9/01 - 6/07 NC State julie_willoughby@ncsu.edu
Dr. Wu, Tao 9/98 - 3/03 Intel tao.wu@intel.com
Dr. Zapletalova, Terezie 1/06 - 12/08 Freudenberg Nonwovens terezie.zapletalova@fvna.com
coadvisor: Dr. Rich Spontak # Dr. Chris Gorman * Dr. Orlando Rojas ** Dr. Carol Hall % Dr. Peter Kilpatrick Dr. Behnam Pourdeyhimi


Group MS alumni
Name Time period Current position email
He, Feng‰,+ 1/09 - 11/10 NC State fhe2@ncsu.edu
Misal, Shriraj 11/06 - 12/08 shriraj.misal@gmail.com
Stone, Jason 9/03 - 6/06 Cree Jason_Stone@cree.com
coadvisor: Dr. Behnam Pourdeyhimi + Dr. Melissa Pasquinelli


Group post-doc alumni
Name Time period Current position email
Dr. Efimenko, Kirill 7/99 - 7/07 Research Professor efimenko@ncsu.edu
Dr. Jhon, Young Kuk 1/10 - 10/11 ykjhon@gmail.com
Dr. Park, Insun 1/06 - 12/07 insunp@gmail.com
Dr. Tong, Jihong% 9/00 - 10/01 Duke Univ. j.tong@cellbio.duke.edu
Dr. Yang, Hyun-Kwan 1/09 - 7/11 Samsung Korea hyunkwanyang@gmail.com
coadvisor: % Dr. Peter Kilpatrick


Group undergraduate alumni
Name Time period Current position email
Allen, Corey^ 9/04 - 6/06 Exxon Mobil
Bass Trimble, Erin 9/05 - 6/06 Cree
Behrhorst, Matthew 5/11- 5/11 Cree
Bowers, Nathan 9/03 - 4/05 US Patent Office
Boyles, Julie 6/09- 12/10 NC State jkboyles@ncsu.edu
Brown, Joey 1/12 - 6/12 Cornell University
Brown, Justin 8/99 - 12/99
Clark, Steven 11/02 - 5/03 Eastman Chemical
Cole, Katie 7/99 - 8/01 Exxon Mobil kathryn.y.cole@exxonmobil.com
Collar, Joe1 7/12 - 8/12 Intel
Du, Xiaotang3 7/11 - 8/11 Georgia Tech
Erel, David 9/01 - 1/04 Gresham, Smith & Part. david@erel.us
Forte, Ashley2 7/03 - 8/05 Exxon Mobil ashleysghana@yahoo.com
Fisher, Gary 9/07 - 1/09 Physics NCSU illbnano@gmail.com
Hamill, Bridget 9/07 - 9/08 Milliken
Harris, Justin 6/05 - 6/07 UT Austin
Hauswald, Adrien 9/11 - 9/12 GE adrien.hauswald@gmail.com
Hawksley, Andie$ 9/11 - 9/12 NC State adrien.hauswald@gmail.com
Haywood, Zan 5/10 - 5/11 Auburn University
Hemlock, Matt1 5/00 - 7/00
Hernandez, Derek 9/07 - 5/08 UT Austin derekh@che.utexas.edu
Hill, Ryan^ 8/02 - 5/04 Telecris
Hoeferkamp, Katherine 5/09 - 5/10 University of Colorado
Hu, Hanquiong (Diana)3 6/08 - 7/08 Yale University diana_hhq@126.com
Hutton, Whit$ 5/11 - 9/12 Newell Rubbermaid
Kichak, Isaac@ 1/12 - 6/13 Exxon Mobil
Kilgore, Chris 5/10 - 5/11 Novartis
Krotova, Masha$ 1/08 - 7/09 Novartis
Lam, Peter 9/03 - 5/04 NC State
Lisane, Jessica^ 9/07 - 5/08 Merck
Lu, Yingying3 7/09 - 8/09 Zhejiang University, PRC hz.luyy@gmail.com
Luna-Ramos, Esmeralda^ 9/06 - 9/07 Eastman Chemical elunaramos@eastman.com
Majeska, Alex2 6/06 - 8/06 aamajesk@ncsu.edu
Mason, Taryn1 5/00 - 7/00
Morrell, Beth 2/04 - 5/05 NC State beth.morrell@gmail.com
Nadel, Ryan 9/04 - 6/05 Kimberly-Clark
Njoroge, Ian 5/10 - 5/11 Biogen Idec
Nugent, Jack$ 9/12 - 5/13 Goodyear Tire & Rubber
Redmond, Erin 9/07 - 9/08 Georgia Tech eredmond3@gatech.edu
Self, Matthew 9/09 - 5/10
Shapiro, Joanna 9/00 - 9/01 Photocircuits Corp.
Soliman, Nicole^ 9/11 - 5/12 Exxon Mobil
Stark, Dan 9/02 - 12/04 Appealing Products
Vargas, Jason1 5/01 - 7/01
Vestal, Jake 9/07 - 6/08 DOD Navy
Weiger, Kathy 2/05 - 9/07 Exxon Mobil klweiger@gmail.com
Williford, Jay 9/99 - 9/00 NC State
Wuthenow, Tim 1/08 - 1/09 International Paper
Yuan, Haomiao3 7/11 - 8/11 UMass Amherst haomiao@mail.pse.umass.edu
Zheng, Shanmei3 7/12 - 8/12
1 REU student, 2 RISE student, 3 Zheijang exchange student
coadvisor: Dr. Michael Dickey $ Dr. Kirill Efimenko ^ Dr. Orlin Velev @ Dr. Alan Tonelli


Group visitors
Name Time period Current position email
Cho, Younghyun4 7/09 - 9/09 Georgia Tech rodin99@snu.ac.kr
Kim, Hyunjung (Sophie)4 2/10 - 5/10 Sogang University, Korea hyunjung.sophie.kim@gmail.com
Liebig, Tobias5 9/11 - 4/12 Humboldt University, Germany liebig@physik.hu-berlin.de
Martinache, Jerôme 1/01 - 5/02 Phillips Research jerome.martinache@philips.com
Park, So-Shin4 5/08 - 8/08 Sogang University, Korea
Prof. Santer, Svetlana6 4/13 - 5/13 Potsdam University, Germany santer@uni-potsdam.de
Yenice, Zuleyha5 4/11 - 10/11 TU Berlin, Germany yenice@mail.tu-berlin.de
4 NSF-PIRE student, 5 TUB exchange student, 6 sabbatical leave


We encourage all potential graduate students to apply through the CHE NCSU PROSPECTIVE STUDENTS link. Because of the application process practiced at our department we cannot accept anyone to join directly our group. The new graduate students usually choose their advisors at the end of their first semester of graduate school.